10 apply for ND Board of Higher Education

BISMARCK – Ten North Dakotans have applied for a seat on the state Board of Higher Education that is opening July 1, State School Superintendent Kirsten Baesler said this week.

The candidates are:

– Autumn Bennett, middle/high school music and math teacher, Cavalier Public School, Walhalla.

– Donald Campbell, Vice President/Chief Human Resources Officer, Sanford Health, Mandan.

– Alan Goos, electrician, Advanced Electrical Systems, West Fargo. Residence in Fargo.

– Kari Cutting, consultant and former vice president of North Dakota Petroleum Council, Beulah.

– Nadine Hagen, speech language pathologist, Underwood Public School, Turtle Lake.

– Christie Jaeger, farmer, rancher and crop insurance adjuster, Esmond.

– Wendy Kopp, chief nursing officer, Sanford Health, Bismarck.

– Ruth Plenty Sweetgrass-She Kills, director of food sovereignty, Nueta Hidatsa Sahnish College, New Town.

– Patrick Sogard, owner and chairman, American State Bank & Trust Co., Williston.

– Stan Schauer, director of assessments, North Dakota Department of Public Instruction, Bismarck.

The governor appoints the eight voting members of the Board of Higher Education. Baesler is chairwoman of a nominating committee that screens candidates for the board.

The opening carries a four-year term that begins July 1. The person who is appointed will succeed John Warford, the SBHE’s vice chairman, who declined to seek appointment to a second four-year term.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today