Minot State athletics announces 2020 Hall of Fame inductees

The 2020 Minot State University Athletics Hall of Fame class features former MLB umpire Gary Cederstrom, former women’s basketball head coach Sheila Green Gerding, the 2004-05 men’s basketball team, former football defensive lineman Ian Best, and former softball pitcher Mandy Greenberg.

The MSU Athletics Hall of Fame banquet will be rescheduled for next year on the homecoming weekend of the 2021 championship season as the Beavers honor both the 2020 Hall of Fame class and the 2021 Hall of Fame Class at halftime of the football game. The date and time of the homecoming game will be determined in the spring.

Cederstrom played baseball during his four seasons at Minot State. He was best known for his selflessness and teamwork to help make the team better on a day-to-day basis while at MSU. Cederstrom worked for 41 years in professional baseball as an umpire, including 31-plus years in Major League Baseball. He was a unanimous selection to be a member of the 2020 Hall of Fame Class. The Minot native routinely returns to the Magic City on a yearly basis to attend Beavers’ athletic events and is a pillar in the community. Cederstrom finished his umpiring career ranked 45th on the all-time games-worked list in Major League Baseball history with 3,850 games logged. Cederstrom is arguably the most accomplished alumnus of Minot State in professional sports.

Green Gerding coached the Minot State women’s basketball team from 1995-2017 (22 years). During that time, she tallied 360 total wins to etch her name as the women’s basketball program career leader in wins. Green Gerding led the Beavers to six NAIA National Tournaments and advanced to the Elite 8 two times. Her teams notched five 20-plus win seasons, including a school-record 22 wins in 2010-11. Green Gerding posted 15 winning seasons in her 22 years and double-digit wins in all but one year. In her 16 years at the NAIA level, she had 14 winning seasons and 2 NDCAC Tournament Titles. Green Gerding developed 11 All-Americans, including Carly Boag, Kendra Meyer, and Jenn Sundahl. All of whom were either named Player of the Year, Most Valuable Player or Senior Player of the Year. Coach Green always taught her players to strive for greatness and success and never stop working hard until you have achieved your goals.

The 2004-05 Minot State men’s basketball team set the all-time wins mark with 23, topping the 1972 team by one victory. MSU won both the DAC-10 regular-season title and the tournament title. The Beavers advanced to the NAIA National Tournament, the fourth time in school history. The team had one NAIA All-American and two DAC-10 All-Conference players. Head coach Mike Hultz was named DAC-10 Coach of the Year, Courtney “Coco” Haley was named Newcomer of the Year and First-Team All-DAC, and Jeremy Feller was named Second-Team All-DAC to pin-point a few standouts on the DAC-10 Championship winning team.

Best was a defensive standout from 2000-03 on the Minot State University football team. Best posted a school record in single-season sacks with 13.5 in 2002; along with 25.5 career sacks and was a four-year starter for a team that earned the DAC-10 Co-Championship in 2002 and a berth into the NAIA National Playoffs that same year. He was named Honorable Mention NAIA All-American in 2002 and First-Team All-DAC-10 in 2002 and 2003.

Greenberg was a star in the circle for the Minot State University softball team. She posted a record of 73 wins and 28 losses from 2010-2013 along with a career ERA of 1.77 over 614.1 innings pitched with 867 strikeouts. Greenberg recorded the most wins all-time (25), the second-most wins all-time (23), and the seventh-most wins all-time (17) during her time at MSU. She posted the most strikeouts in a season in softball program history with 262 in 2010, a season where she made 40 appearances in the circle and posted a 23-10 record and a 1.77 ERA. Greenberg was named Freshman of the Year, DAC Pitcher of the Year, First-Team All-Conference her Sophomore year, First-Team All-Conference her Senior year, and First-Team All-NSIC alongside NSIC Pitcher of the Year. She was a part of the 2010 DAC Tournament Champions and a member of two MSU softball teams that made it to the NAIA National Championships.

These five distinguished members of the MSU athletics family have been selected to join the 198 members of the Minot State University Athletics Hall of Fame as the class of 2020 due to their accomplishments while here in the Magic City and their lasting impact on the Minot community and the nation.

Due to the cancellation of fall sports, we have provided a Q and A section below.

Q: When is the date of the event?

A: The Homecoming date for 2021 will be determined in the spring, and information on the banquet will be released at that time.

Q: Will there be an official class for 2021?

A: Yes, the 2020 and 2021 class will both be inducted at the same event. The 2021 class will be determined in May when the Hall of Fame committee meets.

Q: Where can I purchase tickets for the event?

A: Tickets for the hall of fame banquet will be available after the 2021 class is announced. Tickets can be purchased online.

Q: Will there still be a ceremony at half time of the 2021 Homecoming game?

A: Yes, both the 2020 and 2021 Hall of Fame Classes will be honored at halftime.

Q: Who do I contact if I have questions about the event?

A: For questions, contact Assistant Athletic Director of Development Brock Weppler. Phone: (701) 858-4451. Email: brock.weppler@minotstateu.edu.

— MSU athletics


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today