Two appointed to ND Board of Public School Education

Mike McHugh and Eric Nelson will be joining the North Dakota Board of Public School Education, which provides guidance and oversight for the state’s K-12 system, according to North Dakota Superintendent of Public Instruction Kirsten Baesler’s office.

McHugh, of Mandan, is the aviation education coordinator for the state Aeronautics Commission, a certified career and technical education teacher, and a former aviation instructor in the Bismarck public schools. Nelson is a Williston resident and a senior technical adviser for Creedence Energy Services.

Gov. Doug Burgum named McHugh and Nelson as his choices on Thursday. Nelson will represent Burke, Divide, McKenzie, Mountrail, Ward, and Williams counties on the board, while McHugh will represent Adams, Billings, Bowman, Dunn, Golden Valley, Grant, Hettinger, Mercer, Morton, Oliver, Sioux, Slope, and Stark counties. They will serve six-year terms, which start July 1.

Board of Public School Education appointees also are members of the state Board of Career and Technical Education, which oversees North Dakota’s state CTE department. They also are in charge of the North Dakota K-12 Education Coordination Council, which reviews state education programs and encourages collaboration among agencies and interest groups.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today