Minot, Carrington firefighters named to Hall of Fame

Two firefighters, from Minot and Carrington, will be inducted into the North Dakota Firefighters Hall of Fame Oct. 12 in Garrison.

Selected were John Hocking and Jay Wolsky.

Hocking became an active firefighter in 1974 and retired from the Minot Fire Department in 2017. He has served as fire inspector, captain, battalion chief, Minot Rural Fire Department board member, fire instructor and is a past president of the North Dakota Fire Prevention Association.

Wolsky has served as fire chief since 2014 for the Carrington Fire Department, where he has been an active firefighter. He had been a firefighter in Devils Lake from 1987 to 2005. He served at the U.S. Naval Base Adak in Alaska, as president of the Devils Lake Volunteer Firemen and as a truck lieutenant, training officer and lieutenant.

The public is invited to the Hall of Fame induction and banquet Saturday, Oct. 12, in the Garrison City Auditorium. Festivities will commence with an open house at the N.D. Firefighter’s Museum at 4:30 p.m. A Fallen Firefighter’s Remembrance Ceremony begins at 5 p.m., followed by a social and prime rib supper to be served at 6 p.m. The induction ceremony will take place after the banquet supper.

Tickets for the event are $25 and children ages 12 and younger are $10. Reservations and tickets can be obtained by contacting McKaila Behles at 463-2345 or by e-mail at ndfm@restel.com.

Induction into the Hall of Fame is conferred upon outstanding individuals whose contributions to and leadership of the fire service within North Dakota have been a milestone in the development of those services and whose actions have served not just their community but have contributed significantly to the fire service on a regional, statewide or national basis.