Minot State students present at American Chemical Society National Meeting

Submitted Photo Minot State University Student Chapter of the American Chemical Society members pictured with Tess Skinner, the MSU Chapter president, holding their Honorable Mention award are, from left to right: Alexandria Hamm, Kaytlyn Heick, Amelia Hamman, Benjamin Wilson, Tess Skinner, Stephanie Sundhagen, Erin Winterton and MSU professor Mikhail Bobylev.

Minot State University professor Mikhail Bobylev and seven student researchers attended the 2019 Spring National Meeting of the American Chemical Society (ACS) from March 31 to April 4 in Orlando, Fla., according to a press release from Minot State.

Minot State student Tess Skinner, Minot State’s Student Chapter of the American Chemical Society president and Greenville, Texas, native, delivered an oral presentation, while seven research abstracts were published. Six Minot State students presented six posters with their research results along with Skinner’s presentation.

The chapter presented a poster about activities during the 2018-2019 academic year and while presenting the chapter poster, the group met with ACS President Bonnie A. Charpentier. The MSU Student Chapter received an honorable mention award for their performance during the 2017-2018 academic year. Attending the meeting representing the chapter were Stephanie Sundhagen, Tioga; Alexandria Hamm, Minot; Kaytlyn Heick, Bismarck; Amelia Hamman, Carman, Manitoba; Erin Winterton, Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan; and Benjamin Wilson, Surrey, along with Skinner and Bobylev, who is chapter adviser.

Founded in 1876 and chartered by the U.S. Congress, ACS is the largest scientific society in the world. The society’s mission is to advance the broader chemistry enterprise and its practitioners for the benefit of Earth and its people.