Lenertz, Steele receive awards from NDSHAPE

Dakota Elementary principal Kathryn Lenertz and Perkett Elementary phy. ed. teacher Jason Steele were recently named 2018 Administrator of the Year and Elementary Physical Education Teacher of the Year by the North Dakota Society for Health and Physical Educators (NDSHAPE), according to a press release from Minot State University.

Lenertz and Steele will receive their awards at the organization’s state conference Sept. 24 in Bismarck.

Lenertz is a Minot High School graduate and received degrees in both business education and physical education at Minot State University in 1996. She earned a master’s degree in elementary and secondary administration from North Dakota State University.

Steele also coaches junior varsity baseball for Minot High School and was an assistant girls’ varsity hockey coach for 11 years until he retired in 2018. He graduated from MSU in 2007 with a bachelor’s degree in physical education and is working on a master’s degree from the University of Jamestown.

NDSHAPE was established in 1928 to encourage and provide professional development and support for health, physical education, recreation, and dance (HPERD) professionals. The awards were voted on by Lenertz and Steele’s peers.