District 4 Democrats announce endorsed candidates

NEW TOWN – The District 4 Democrat-NPL has endorsed Thomasina “Tommi” Mandan and Hunter Andes for the North Dakota House of Representatives and Lisa Finley-Deville for the North Dakota Senate.
Mandan, of New Town, has a master’s degree in educational leadership and an education specialist degree, both from Montana State University, Bozeman. She heads the Ethics Commission for the Three Affiliated Tribes in New Town.
“I am a small business owner and this is where I live and I won’t vacate the office to go home,” Mandan said.
Andes, of Plaza, holds bachelor’s degrees in English and English education from Minot State University and an associate’s degree in engineering technology and mass communications from Bismarck State College.
“I would like to see adequate education for our rural schools because that represents the future of our communities,” Andes said.
Finley-Deville, of Mandaree, acquired her master’s degree in business administration and management from the University of Mary. She holds a bachelor’s degree in environmental science and associate’s degrees in science and information management specialist from from Nueta, Hidatsa, and Sahnish College.
“The Bakken Oil Development has had many benefits for our area and residents, but I will advocate for clean air and clean water for the future of our district,” Finley-Deville said.
She said K-12 education funding, affordable access to healthcare and diversifying the state’s economy are important but not enough attention has been given to the issues that matter most to future generations, including protecting landowner rights, environmental protections and public health.
Prior to the past 10 years of advocacy work, Finley-Deville helped home ownership and renovation programs on Fort Berthold for 13 years.
The three candidates have been active in their respective communities. All three serve on several local boards and have testified before state government and the North Dakota Legislature to advocate fairness to District 4.