Local athletes recognized, named to All-State rosters

Sean Williams/MDN Brenna Stroklund (right) of Kenmare/Bowbells was named a 2023 All-State first team selection.

With the conclusion of the Class B girls’ basketball season that saw Central Cass win the state title at the MSU Dome, there is still recognition to be given to the athletes that put together a wonderful 2022-23 season.

This week, the North Dakota Associated Press Sportscasters and Sportswriters Association announced the first and second team All-State rosters, which is composed of a variety of local athletes.

Senior Ellie Braaten from Westhope-Newburg was named to the first team for the third consecutive year, along with Brenna Stroklund from Kenmare/Bowbells who is a multi-year all-state player but finds herself as a first teamer for the first time. Both were finalists for the Ms. Basketball award as well.

On the second team, Maya Vibeto from Our Redeemer’s finds herself on the roster after helping the Knights win their first District 12 title and making the Region 6 championship game. Karli Klein of Garrison is on the second team as well, after being a key contributor on a Troopers team that made the state tournament for the first time since 1999.

Here is the full 2023 First Team All-State roster:

Ellie Braaten (Westhope-Newburg); Halle Crockett (Northern Cass); Decontee Smith (Central Cass); Hailey Quam (Shiloh Christian); Brenna Stroklund (Kenmare-Bowbells).

Here is the full 2023 Second Team All-State roster:

Rylen Burgess (Cavalier); Klaire Cotton (Central Cass); Natalie Decoteau (St. John); Mykell Heidlebaugh (Rugby); Karli Klein (Garrison); Mataeya Mathern (Edgeley-Kulm-Montpelier); Ellie Powell (Bowman County); Laikyn Roney (Oakes); Rylee Satrom (May-Port CG); Ava Schuster (Stanley); Maya Vibeto (Our Redeemer’s).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today