MSU to induct trio, team into Hall of Fame

The Minot State Athletic Hall of Fame will welcome four new inductees this year, with three athletes and one team set to earn the high honors and recognition they worked hard for.

Jen Dixon, a two-sport student-athlete who played both softball and volleyball is one of the three athletes to be honored. Dixon was an All-American in softball and All-Conference in volleyball, demonstrating high performance in both sports.

Joining Dixon is Whitney Aberle, a standout golfer who won a Dakota Athletic Conference championship. Aberle would also go on to coach the MSU women’s golf team for five seasons.

The third and final athlete to be inducted will be Travis Hanson, who was a star student-athlete in track and field. Hanson is a four-time NAIA All-American and is an NAIA national champion in the triple jump.

In addition to the three athletes, the 1986 NAIA national champion runner up gymnastics team. Members of the team are Stacey Aberle, Renae Newman, Lori Swanson, Jody Thompson, Nancy Ward, Robin Wheeler, and head coach Gary Leslie. While the team finished second at the NAIA National Championships that season, Wheeler was the individual national champion in balance beam.

The Hall of Fame ceremony will take place at the Clarion Hotel on Friday, Oct. 14 at 5 p.m. and will be part of MSU’s Homecoming festivities. All inductees will be honored the following day as well at halftime of the Beavers football game vs. Northern State.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today