Beavers track heads to Duluth to Compete in NSIC Championships

The Minot State University track and field team travels to the University of Minnesota Duluth to compete in the 2021 NSIC Outdoor Championships at Malosky Stadium in Duluth, Minnesota.

The Beaver track and field team, lead by Head Coach Mark Del Monaco, looks to build on its success at the NSIC Indoor Championships during the winter that saw 10 student-athletes earn All-Conference Honors.

On the women’s side, Abby McGee qualified for the NSIC Championships in the 1500 meters with a season-best time of 4:56.40 at the Kip Janvrin Open on Apr. 23. Alicia Murillo qualified with a season-fastest time of 4:59.03 in the USD Early Bird on Apr. 3. Caitlin Cornell qualified in the 5000 with a season-best time of 18:17.38 at the Kip Janvrin Open.

Amber Stevahn earned a qualification in the very last meet of the season on May 6 at the Dickinson State Last Chance with a high jump of 1.58 meters to set a D-II program record. Breanna Johns-Oster earned qualification in the shot put with a throw of 12.40 meters at the Yellow Jacket Open on March 28.

Meanwhile, Chloe Gunderson recorded a throw of 11.63 at the NSU Spring Open on April 24, to book her trip to the NSIC Championships and Samantha Brunelle threw a season-best 11.46 in the shot put at the DSU Last Chance to earn an appearance at the championships as well. Gunderson tossed a qualifying distance of 37.34 in the discus at the DSU Last Chance to earn competition in that event at the championships.

Tori Nygard earned a qualification in the hammer throw with a toss of 45.57 at the Ron Masanz Track & Field Classic on April 30 and Peyton Lammerding threw 42.86 at the DSU Last Chance to earn qualification into the championships. Nygard will also compete in the javelin after a season-long throw of 36.09 at the Ron Masanz Classic and Danielle Stauffer earned an appearance in the championships with a throw of 32.88 at the USD Early Bird.

Men’s track sends largest team to championships in Del Monaco’s tenure

Minot State’s Chase Doty will compete in the 100 meters as well as the 4×100 relay after posting qualifying times of 11.24 at the 2021 Yellow Jacket Spring Open on March 27 and as a member of the relay team of Kundai Mutungi, Nathan Trujillo-Aragon, and Chase Tandy that posted a qualifying time of 43.16.

Corbin Harris qualified with a throw in the shot put of 14.31 at the Ron Masanz Classic, Logan Krueger qualified with a distance of 14.30 at the DSU Last Chance, and Samuel Kreins qualified with a throw of 13.49 at the Ron Masanz Classic. These throw athletes also clinched NSIC qualification in the hammer throw as well and Harris along with Krueger, and Hunter Clark will be competing in the discus throw.

Ben Aasen qualified with a javelin throw of 56.67 at the Yellow Jacket Open and Leif Nelson punched his ticket into the conference championships with a throw of 61.27 at the Ron Masanz Classic.

Events begin on Thursday at 12 p.m. with the decatholon and concludes the day of action on Thursday with a start to the 400 meter decathlon at 6:05 p.m. The NSIC Championships run through the weekend with the final events taking place on Saturday, May 15 with the discus slated for a start time of 2:30 p.m.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today