Class A 9-man all-state football teams announced

The North Dakota High School Coaches Association has announced its selections for this year’s All-State Division A football team.

These selections were voted upon by the state’s Division A football coaches. The first-team offense includes quarterback Garret Meehl of Oakes and Simon Romfo of Langdon Edmore-Munich, who also captured the Division A Senior Athlete of the Year Award. Romfo’s head coach, Josh Krivarchka, was named Division A Football Coach of the Year after leading Langdon to a perfect 12-0 season and a 42-28 win over Lisbon in the Dakota Bowl.

Quarterbacks Hunter Schultz from Lisbon and Velva’s Jersey Selzler were also named to the all-state first-team unit. At running back, Gage Florence (Velva), Jordan Sours (Lisbon), Jaxon Feller (Bishop Ryan) and Grant Romfo (Langdon Edmore-Munich) qualified as all-state performers. Meanwhile, wide receivers Caleb Duffield (Bowman County) and Logan Merck (Bishop Ryan) also earned all-state first-team recognition.

Along the offensive line, Caleb Olson (Lisbon), Alex Cluchie (Langdon Edmore-Munich), Kaden Chadwick (Velva) and Logan Becker (New Salem-Almont) were named to the all-state first-team squad.

On defense, lineman Ashton Biesterfeld (Oakes), Jack Romfo (Langdon Edmore-Munich), Jerry Jesperson (Velva) and Tanner Soehren (Dickinson Trinity) were named to the all-state team. At linebacker, Zack Anderson (Killdeer), Nathaniel Jilek (Dickinson Trinity), Micah Anderson (Sargent County) and Esgar Rios (Grafton) achieved first-team all-state status. Sam Roller (Thompson), Adam Schepp (Velva), and Clay Heimer (Bowman County) rounded out the defensive backfield selections.

Meanwhile, Division A Second-Team All-State selections include the following players: Jacob Hankel and David Schmitz (Oakes); Kolby Vander Wal (Northern Cass); Madden Thorson, Alex Erickson, Carsen Mertz (Harvey-Wells County); Ethan Buskness (Carrington); Justin Garza (Grafton); Mitch Heinert (Nedrose); Nick Sanderson, Bryson Elm, Josh Will (Bishop Ryan); Caleb Rist (Des Lacs-Burlington); Brady Senn (Bowman County); Josh Kolling, Stephan Packineau, Braiden Kuehn (Shiloh Christian); Kolby Rasmusson, Jaden Schmidt, Granger Dick (Lisbon); Michael Benoit (Thompson); Carter Tetrault (Langdon Edmore-Munich); Cole Schneibel (Rugby); Tristan Brewer (Velva); Tyler Hanson (Killdeer); Logan Bentz (Dickinson Trinity).

In 9-man football news, quarterbacks Brannin Cleem (Cavalier) and Sawyer Satrom (May-Port CG) won first-team all-state honors. Fellow passer Lucas Schumacher of Linton-HMB captured the Senior Athlete of the Year Award, as well as first-team all-state recognition. Meanwhile, Sandy Laxdal of Cavalier was given the NDHSCA 9-man Coach of the Year Award after helping the Tornadoes to a 12-1 season and a state championship appearance in the Dakota Bowl.

At running back, Trey Jacob (Linton-HMB), Brett Wendel (LaMoure-Litchville-Marion), Xavier Mitchell (North Prairie) and Payton Cauthon (Kidder County) represented the first-team all-state unit, and Colton Ness (LaMoure-Litchville-Marion) was the lone tight end to receive all-state first team honors.

On the offensive line, Daniel Hinkle (Cavalier) and Caleb Nelson (Divide County) were recognized as first-team all-state performers. On the defensive front, Blake VanHorn (Beach), Christopher Jenner (Surrey), Andre LeTexier (Cavalier) and Jon Bogert (Grant County-Flasher) made the first-team. Meanwhile, linebackers Noah Schroeder (Ray-Powers Lake), Jaxen Johnson (North Border), Preston Bohnenstingl (Wyndmere-Lidgerwood) and Hunter Gronneberg (Griggs County-Midkota) came away with all-state honors.

In the defensive backfield Cy Luna (Towner-Granville-Upham), Jaden Lee (North Border) and Jonah Harter (Kidder County) won all-state recognition as well.

Second-team all-state selections for 9-man include the following players: Derick Carl, Brandon Gruenwald (Tri-State); Tate Jerdee (Wyndmere-Lidgerwood); Garrett Hebl (LaMoure-Litchville-Marion); Logan Krueger (May-Port CG); Jacob Steele, Landon Carter (Cavalier); Ethan McGillis, Michael Dunn (St. John); Hunter Johnson (New Rockford-Sheyenne); Noah Frederickson (Ray-Powers Lake); Wyatt Caraballo (Divide County); Randall Polum (Surrey); Cody Frounfelter (Towner-Granville-Upham); Tyson Mattern (Beach); Tucker Schneider (Napoleon-Gackle-Streeter); Jace Friesz (Grant County); Sam Huether (Mott-Regent); Nathan Schatz, Dean Vetter (Linton-HMB); Tristan Patzner, Blake Pfaff (Kidder County).


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today