Coaches Association names 2020 all-state football team

The North Dakota High School Coaches Association has announced its selections for this year’s All-State Division AAA football team.

These selections were voted upon by the state’s Division AAA football coaches. The first-team offense includes quarterback Cooper Mattern of Fargo Shanley, and running backs Isaiah Huus (Bismarck High), Barika Kpeenu (West Fargo Sheyenne) and Cade Garcia (Bismarck Century). At wide receiver, Tyler Thilmony (Mandan), Nick Kupfer (Bismarck Legacy) and Carson Hegerle (West Fargo) were all-state selections as well. Meanwhile, Jack Steckler of Bismarck High was the lone tight end to make the squad.

Offensive lineman Andrew Leingang of Bismarck Century, who also made first-team all-state, won the Division AAA Senior Athlete of the Year Award. Caleb Dockter (Bismarck High), Conor Hedges (Bismarck High), Joren Palmer (Fargo Davies) and Adam Clute (West Fargo Sheyenne) rounded out the other all-state performers along the offensive line.

On defense, Lucas Schweigert (Bismarck Century), Jaxon Duttenhefer (Mandan), KC Ortiz (West Fargo) and Abe Hestdalen (West Fargo Sheyenne) filled out the first-team defensive front. Maguire Martin (Bismarck Century), Brandt Kringlie (Bismarck High), Troy Berg (Dickinson) and Truman Werremeyer (Fargo Davies) made up the linebacking corpse, and Brock Johnsen (Bismarck Century), Enock Sibomana (Fargo South), Carter Birrenkott (West Fargo) and Colten Alme (Fargo Davies) filled out the first team all-state defensive backfield.

Meanwhile, head coach Ron Wingenbach of Bismarck Century was named NDHSCA Division AAA Football Coach of the Year. Century capped off a perfect 10-0 season with a 34-0 victory over West Fargo Sheyenne in the Dakota Bowl state title game.

In other football news, here were this season’s second team all-state selections listed by school (No positions designated):

Bismarck Century: Jacob Bosley, Thomas Jeske, Noah Schafner; Bismarck High: Gunner Swanson; Bismarck Legacy: Clay Feland, Carter Smith, Keagen Woodbury; Fargo Davies: Denver Piechowski, Reid Hartness; Fargo North: Jacob Brosius; Fargo Shanley: Emmett Kenney, John Gores; Fargo South: Bakarr Fullah; Grand Forks Central: Sam Strandell; Grand Forks Red River: Sam Sather; Jamestown: Ty Monson, Matt Anderson; Mandan: Aaron Grubb, James Barnhardt, Treys Tietz; Minot: Chase Burke; West Fargo: Housten Visto; West Fargo Sheyenne: Kole Menz, Dylan Hemerick, Alex Goodiron; Williston: J.J. Williams.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today