Multiple high school all-star games canceled

The COVID-19 pandemic has forced the cancellation of multiple North Dakota high school all-star competitions. The list of events that have been canceled is listed below.

Badlands Bowl

The 27th annual football Badlands Bowl, featuring North Dakota seniors playing against Montana seniors, was scheduled for June 20 in Dickinson at Fisher Field. It was going to be the final Badlands Bowl.

“It is unfortunate that COVID-19 protocols have taken away yet another celebration and honor for Montana and North Dakota seniors,” a press release stated. “We wish them all the best as they go forward with their academic and athletic pursuits in these uncertain times.”

Local players who were scheduled to attend the event include Preston Olson (Minot High), Payton Philion (Minot High), Corbin Okeson (Bishop Ryan) and Bo Belquist (New Rockford).

North Dakota Shrine Bowl

The 9- and 11-man football games between the west and east region seniors in the state were scheduled to be played July 18 in Fargo.

The event, which promotes and raises funds for the Shriners Hospitals, also included an inclusive player’s camp in Mayville.

“The North Dakota Shrine Bowl Board will formulate and execute a plan to still honor the players selected to participate in the 2020 North Dakota Shrine Bowl and will be in contact with the players and coaches directly,” Shane Heiberg stated in a press release. “The tradition will continue in 2021 and beyond.”

Local 11-man players who were scheduled to attend the event include Johnny Butz (Minot High), Derry Lentz (Minot High), Preston Olson (Minot High), Payton Philion (Minot High), Keegan Henjum (Bishop Ryan) and Corbin Okeson (Bishop Ryan).

Alternates: Triston Emke (Minot High), Parker Jacobson (Minot High), Preston Jones (Minot High), Carter Peterson (Minot High), Hunter Sidener (Minot High), Keagan Lautenschlager (Kenmare/Bowbells/Burke Central), Garrett Stroklund (Kenmare/Bowbells/Burke Central), Jameson Lesmann (DLB) and Coy Spooner (DLB).

Local 9-man players who were scheduled to attend the event include Reese Mohagen (TGU), Jared Lovro (TGU), Henry Savelkoul (MLS), Isaac Nordloef (Ray/Powers Lake), Wyatt Puckett (Ray/Powers Lake), Parker Christenson (Central McLean), Kayden Hornberger (Central McLean), Ty Snyder (Central McLean), Kobly Nelson (Surrey), Ryder Holien (Surrey), Devan Michels (Rugby), Hunter Schuh (Harvey/Wells County), Bradley Defender (St. John), Adam Jollie (St. John), Darrion Wilson (St. John), Carter Tandeski (Benson County), Bo Belquist (New Rockford/Sheyenne), Nathan Holzwarth (New Rockford/Sheyenne) and Hunter Thompson (New Rockford/Sheyenne).

Alternates: Nate Beha (MLS), Kaleb Foltyn (MLS), Garrett Schmidt (MLS), Adam Southam (MLS), Nathan Sims (Central McLean), Cody Fuchs (Surrey), Corey Mattern (Rugby), Lucas Raue (Harvey/Wells County), Matt Dufner (Westhope/Newburg/Glenburn), Lucas Kveum (Westhope/Newburg/Glenburn), Nick Presnell (New Rockford/Sheyenne) and Matthew Greendahl (North Prairie).

Lions All-Star Basketball Games

The boys and girls NDHSCA Lions All-Star Basketball Games were scheduled for July 13 at Bismarck Legacy and July 14 at West Fargo.

The games pitted senior standouts from Class A against Class B.

“The Lions Clubs and Coaches Association empathize with the athletes and coaches in their not playing these concluding basketball contests; however, probably the cancellation of this event for North Dakota High School senior athletes will be another learning experience for the young people of the state,” Randy Johnson stated in a press release. “We know that many of these senior athletes will continue with their career accomplishments and continue to be upstanding citizens who are truly ‘All-Stars.'”

Local players who were scheduled to attend the event include Jaxon Gunville (Minot High), Trace Goven (Rugby), Jaden Hamilton (Rugby), Devan Michels (Rugby), Rhett Hanson (Stanley), Allie Nelson (Minot High), Leah Feland (MLS), Hailey Roberts (Our Redeemer’s) and Kaity Hove (Trenton).

Alternates: Hayden Andes (L&C/North Shore-Plaza), Jaidyn Brummond (TGU) and Taylor Dean (Stanley).

Optimist Volleyball All-Star Series

The NDHSCA Optimist Volleyball All-Star Series was scheduled for July 15 at Fargo Davies and July 16 at Bismarck Century. The competition featured the senior West All-Stars against the East All-Stars.

“We are deeply saddened that those chosen to play in the 2020 All-Star Volleyball Series will not get their opportunity to compete,” Lisa Strand stated in a press release. “Our hearts go out to them, but we know the cancellation of this one event will not change their career accomplishments and that these seniors will continue to shine as they move forward.”

Local players who were scheduled to attend the event include Kayli Olson (DLB), Annie Folden (Our Redeemer’s), Jossi Meyer (Stanley) and Kaitlyn Klein (Garrison).

Scheels Softball

All-Star Series

The Scheels Softball All-Star Series was scheduled for June 1 in Bismarck and June 2 in Casselton. The series featured seniors from the West All-Stars against the East All-Stars.

Local players who were scheduled to attend the event include Grace Candrian (Bishop Ryan), Erica Hermanson (DLBLC), Landry Maragos (Minot High), Cambrie Pretzer (Minot High), Janie Savelkoul (MLSKB) and Emma Passa (Velva/Drake-Anamoose).

Follow the Minot Daily News on Twitter @MinotDailyNews.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)