Marty Murray named NAHL General Manager of the Year

Minot Minotauros head coach and general manager Marty Murray has been named the 2019 NAHL General Manager of the Year.

Murray has a career record 227-178-34 since he took the helm of the Minotauros in late January of their inaugural 2011-2012 season. The very next season, the Tauros made the Robertson Cup Playoffs and have not missed the postseason tournament since. The Tauros seven-year run of making the playoffs is the second longest active streak in the league behind only the Fairbanks Ice Dogs.

This season Murray took a team with just 11 returning members from last season’s run to the Robertson Cup Final and rebuilt a roster that finished second in the Central Division and sixth overall in the league. Over the summer he added veterans free agents Justin Kelley and Brennan Couet. Kelley finished eight on the team with 33 points on 15 goals and 18 assists. Defenseman Couet had two goals and six assists and a plus-10 rating. Once the season began Murray bolstered the roster by adding Vince Marino, whom had been Brookings second leading scorer last year and Quinn Warmuth who was serving as the Maryland Black Bears captain.

Most importantly during Murray’s time as head coach and general manager of the Minotauros, 79 players have moved on to play college or professional hockey including 43 players to NCAA Division I programs.

Murray deferential to the staff and players he has surrounded himself by saying:

“I look at this as a group award. I’m very thankful to surround myself with great people that have a passion for our organization. I can’t thank my assistant general manager Chris Lonke enough for his work on the recruiting trail. Same goes with Wags and Waz [assistant coaches Shane Wagner and Wyatt Waselenchuk]. Not only have we been able to recruit high end players, they are also high end character kids that do an amazing job on and off the ice. Our entire scouting staff: Brad Clayton, Todd Collins, Reed Larson, Sean LaDouce, Billy Wagner and Mike Perkins do an amazing job of identifying players that fit well into our culture. I’d like to thank the players for their commitment every day and understanding the impact they can have on our community during their time in Minot. Lastly, I’d like to thank Brad Porter for bringing junior hockey back to Minot, believing in me from day one and setting the example by being the hardest working member of our organization.”

This is the fourth time that Murray has been honored in the NAHL annual awards. He was named the NAHL Central General Manager of the Year for the 2015-16 and 2016-17 seasons as well as the NAHL Central Coach of the Year for the 2014-15 season. Murray has also been chosen to coach the NAHL Selects at the NAHL Top Prospects Tournament twice.

Murray and the Tauros continue their chase for the Robertson Cup this weekend with Games 3 and 4 of the Central Division Finals at home against the Aberdeen Wings.

Even if the Tauros advance to the next round, these will be the Tauros’ final home games of the season as the Robertson Cup Final Four will once again be hosted by Fogerty Ice Arena in Blaine, Minnesota.

— Minotauros PR


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today