Smith hits walk-off homer, Beavers baseball wins two games against Bulldogs

Justin Martinez/MDN Minot State senior Celestino Rodriguez tracks down a foul ball during the Beavers’ 9-3 win over Minnesota Duluth on Friday at Jack Hoeven Park. Minot State also won the second game of the doubleheader by a score of 6-5.

By Daily News Staff


The Minot State baseball team (28-14, 21-8 NSIC) took care of business on Friday, claiming both games against Minnesota Duluth (12-29, 9-21 NSIC) at Jack Hoeven Park by scores of 9-3 and 6-5.

The first game of the day got off to an explosive start as the Beavers held a 3-2 lead at the end of the opening inning, but it Minot State who went the distance. Up 4-3 in the bottom of the fifth inning, Darrel Doll took a pitch from Duluth’s Eric Yachnich for a stroll.

The senior sent the ball flying out of the park for a two-run homer to give his team a 6-3 edge, and the Beavers added another three runs in the sixth inning to claim the 9-3 win.

The second game proved to far more competitive, as Minot State trailed 5-3 entering the bottom of the ninth inning. With runners on first and second, Trevaun Smith played the role of the hero.

The junior connected on a pitch from Duluth closer McCale Peterson and sent it right up the middle of the field. The ball cleared the fence for a three-run, walk-off homer to give the Beavers a dramatic 6-5 win.

Smith finished with three RBIs and four runs on 3-for-7 hitting in both games combined, while senior Michael Borst recorded four RBIs and two runs on 2-for-5 hitting.

Minot State will host another doubleheader today against Minnesota Duluth, this time at Corbett Field. First pitch is scheduled for noon.

Beavers softball takes both games against Upper Iowa

The Minot State softball team (24-19, 13-13 NSIC) scored at will on the road Friday, as it handled Upper Iowa (21-22, 13-15 NSIC) for a pair of wins by scores of 8-4 and 12-8.

Clinging to a slim 3-2 edge in the top of the fourth inning, the Beavers took full control of the opening game with a five-run scoring burst. The highlight came courtesy of freshman Kiera Shwaluk, who brought in two runs with a single down the left-field line to make it a 5-2 contest.

Trailing 8-2 in the bottom of the seventh inning, the Peacocks managed to add two runs to their total, but Laura Mendez halted the comeback there. The senior pitcher finished off a complete game inside the circle, allowing seven hits and striking out one batter in the 8-4 win.

Upper Iowa found its offensive rhythm in the second game, but it was Minot State who scored five runs in the fourth inning once again to claim a 5-3 lead. Now up 9-3 in the top of the sixth inning, senior Lauren Cowden brought in another two runs with a single to left field for good measure.

Upper Iowa attempted a late comeback but ultimately fell short, and the Beavers secured the 12-8 win. Freshman Zoya Robbins recorded three RBIs, three runs and a homer on 4-for-7 hitting in both games combined. Shwaluk finished with three RBIs and three runs on 4-for-8 hitting.

Minot State closes its regular season out Sunday in Minnesota when it plays a pair of games against Winona State. First pitch is set for noon.

Borst, Franco tabbed as Minot State’s NSIC honor student-athletes

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Seniors Michael Borst and Andrea Franco have been named Minot State’s Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference Male and Female Honor Student-Athlete award winners, the conference office announced on Friday.

Borst was selected as Minot State’s nominee for the 2019 Dr. William Britton Scholar-Athlete Award for Academic Excellence while Franco was tabbed as Minot State’s nominee for the 2019 Willis R. Kelly Scholar-Athlete Award for Academic Excellence.

The member institutions of the NSIC nominate one male and one female student-athlete for the Britton and Kelly Awards. The nominees must meet the following criteria: a grade point average of 3.5 or better (on a 4.0 scale); evidence of academic excellence beyond the minimum grade point average (scholarship prizes and other academic recognition), evidence of participation in the life of the institution, and evidence of participation in at least two-thirds of the varsity events of the individual’s primary sport. The award is voted on by the NSIC Faculty Athletic Representatives.

The Britton Award was created in 1985 in honor of Dr. William Britton, a longtime faculty representative at Bemidji State University who served on the Athletic Board of Control of the Northern Intercollegiate Conference for 25 years. Britton retired from BSU in 1982 and passed away this past March.

Kirby Hora of Augustana was named the recipient of the Dr. William Britton Scholar-Athlete Award for Academic Excellence.

The Kelly Award is named in honor of Willis R. Kelly, an associate professor of physical education at the University of Minnesota-Morris. A member of the NSIC Hall of Fame, Kelly also coordinated the Minnesota-Morris Physical Education Department from 1970-87. She became the first director of women’s intercollegiate athletics at Minnesota-Morris in 1976 and was later promoted to athletics director for the whole department. Kelly passed away in 1988.

Upper Iowa’s Anna Winter was selected as the recipient of the Willis R. Kelly Scholar-Athlete Award for Academic Excellence.

— MSU athletics


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today