Congratulations to Minot State men’s hockey team

Lightning struck for the second time in six years Tuesday night when the Minot State men’s club hockey team was named 2019 ACHA Division I national champions after defeating No. 5-seeded Iowa State, 3-1.

The Beavers were the No. 6-seeded team and had won a grueling competition against top-seeded Lindenwood, 1-0, behind a shutout performance from goaltender Joshua Bykowski.

Twenty-four hours later, the Beavers returned to glory, six years after experiencing the jubilation of the first national title in program history.

It was no easy tournament for MSU. On the contrary it featured four wins in four days to climb back to the top.

Effort and grit characterized the team’s performance throughout the tournament as MSU found a way to come out victorious en route to the final win.

Whether one has a relationship with the program or not, whether one even follows local sports or not, the Beavers, their effort, character and teamwork represent well the entire community.

Congratulations are due the program, team members and coaches.

Hopefully, the Beavers will take some time to enjoy the momentous occasion.

Then, there will be next season when they are back in action – as defending national champions.