Call before you dig

The North Dakota Public Service Commission is reminding North Dakotans of the potential danger of digging without first calling 811, ND’s safe-digging number.

April marks Safe Digging Month in North Dakota.

North Dakota law requires homeowners and farmers working on their property to call 811 at least two business days in advance so North Dakota One Call can send personnel to mark the locations of underground facilities. The markings are valid for 21 days after they are placed. The Public Service Commission (PSC) enforces these damage prevention laws and can levy fines up to $25,000 per violation depending on severity.

Since 2009, PSC has processed 324 complaints related to Call-Before-You-Dig violations and has assessed $414,950 in fines to companies and individuals who have violated the law. Striking an underground utility can result in explosions, service interruptions, damage to the environment or severe injury or death.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today