ND legislative GOP elect leadership

BISMARCK — Sen. David Hogue, Minot, of District 38 was elected Senate majority leader during the North Dakota Senate and House Republican caucuses held Monday in Bismarck. 

“I’m really looking forward to serving my colleagues and the people of North Dakota,” Hogue said.

Former Senate Majority Leader Rich Wardner and House Majority Leader Chet Pollert announced their retirement earlier this year, leading to the election of new leadership for the 2023 legislative session, as well as new assistant leaders, caucus chairs and Speaker of the House.

Sen. Jerry Klein, Fessenden, of District 14 was chosen as assistant majority leader and Sen. Kristin Roers, Fargo, of District 27 was selected caucus chair for the Senate Republicans.

House Repubicans elected Rep. Mike Lefor, Dickinson, of District 37, as House majority leader, Rep. Glenn Bosch, Bismarck, of District 30, as assistant majority leader and Rep. Austen Schauer, Fargo, of District 13, as caucus chair.

“I’m excited for this challenge,” Lefor said. “We have a great agenda, including workforce recruitment, childcare, pension reform, tax relief and lowering the cost of government. We have a fantastic group of Republican legislators this session and I can’t wait to get started.”

Committee chairs and members will be selected during the organizational session the first week of December. The 2023 legislative session begins Jan. 3. 


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $2.99/week.

Subscribe Today