Minot boy elected governor at Boys State

Hayden Fredrickson of Minot was elected governor of North Dakota Boys State, a gathering of 59 participants June 12-17 on the North Dakota State College of Science campus in Wahpeton.

Sponsored by the American Legion, North Dakota Boys State brings together boys between their junior and senior years of high school. Delegates come from across North Dakota. The week of activities focuses on leadership and government. At North Dakota Boys State delegates participate in hands-on learning activities including city and county government functions, disaster simulation exercises and the publication of a daily newspaper that is written and edited by delegates. In addition to this “learning by doing” process, delegates have the opportunity to experience speeches and debates from visiting dignitaries.

Boys from the area who participated in Boys State include: Cordell Walters, Grant Howard, Garrett Howard, Jonathan Swenson, and Dawson Weisz, all of Cando; McCoy Beckley, Carrington; Diontrea Anderson, Kenmare; Kaden Dodds, Aidan Pederson and Hayden Fredrickson, all of Minot; Tyson Odermann, Parshall; Brock Sundhagen, Tioga; Heath Heilman, Voltaire; Jake Dahl, Washburn; Kelson Parish, Williston.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today