Minot Symphony Orchestra to livestream ‘My Serenade’ concert

The Minot Symphony Orchestra will present “My Serenade” concert via livestream on Saturday, Nov. 7, at 7:30 p.m.

Due to the rising number of COVID-19 cases in Ward County, and for the safety of the musicians and patrons, the Minot Symphony Association board of directors voted to move to a livestream platform for the November performances.

“Our mission statement is: ‘The Minot Symphony, a university and community orchestra, aims to enrich lives by providing opportunities for musicians and inspiration to patrons through education and the performance of diverse orchestral repertoire.’ By switching to livestreaming, we will still provide opportunity possible to all musicians and can continue to inspire our patrons in a safe environment,” said Board President Christine Baumann.

“We were fortunate to hold our 95th season opener to a live audience with over 300 patrons, one of very few live performances around the globe since the COVID-19 global pandemic began. We strive to enrich lives throughout NWND and given the current situation we feel this is the safest option at this time. We will see how the case numbers and the county risk levels change before making decisions for future performances,” said Executive Director Ellen Fenner.

“My Serenade” livestream will feature Concertmaster Jon Rumney, on Vivaldi’s Concerto No. 2, “Summer” from “The Four Seasons.”

Rumney is a professor of music at Minot State University, providing skilled instruction in violin, viola and chamber music, as well as classroom lectures. Rumney received his bachelor, master and doctor of musical arts degrees from the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York. Rumney received the “Distinguished Service Award” by the North Dakota String Teachers Association in 2003 and again in 2018.

Other works being performed include “St. Paul’s Suite” for string orchestra and Dvorak’s “Serenade for Strings.”

The Minot Symphony Orchestra is a blend of student, community, and professional musicians from the Minot area. The symphony is directed by Maestro Efrain Amaya, assistant professor of music at Minot State University.

This project is supported in part by grants from Arts Midwest and the North Dakota Council on the Arts, which receives funding from the North Dakota Legislature and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Access to livestream and ticket information

Patrons who have already purchased a ticket for the Nov. 5 or Nov. 7 Minot Symphony Orchestra performance will be emailed a link to access the livestream for Nov. 7. Anyone interested in viewing the livestream can purchase access on the symphony website www.minotsymphony.com.

Livestream tickets can be purchased at www.minotsymphony.com. Tickets will be based on the number of people watching the performance per device. A solo ticket is $25 (one adult age 18+), senior solo $20 (65+), duo $40 (two adults), family quartet $50 (includes 2 adults and 2 student/children), or ensemble for up to six viewers on the same device for $100.

Pre-concert talks which provide an overview of the works being performed, talk about the story behind the music, the composer and historical context will be uploaded to the symphony’s website for free viewing before the concert. Concert programs will also be available on the symphony’s website.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.75/week.

Subscribe Today