Three finalists for position on state board of higher education

Three finalists have been selected for a seat on the state board of higher education. The names of the finalists will be forwarded to Gov. Doug Burgum for consideration.

According to the state superintendent of public instruction, the finalists are Ian Grande, of Bismarck, the principal of Shiloh Christian School of Bismarck; June Randall, of Grand Forks, a television producer and founder/chief executive officer of Circle of Nations Publishing; and Joseph Wetch Jr., of Fargo, an attorney and vice president of the Serkland Law Firm of Fargo.

Burgum will choose from among the three finalists for a successor to Don Morton, who is leaving the board on July 1. Morton, a retired executive for Microsoft Corp., served for eight years. Members of the Board of Higher Education are picked for four-year terms, and are eligible for reappointment to a second term.

Burgum’s choice will begin serving on July 1. He or she will be subject to confirmation by the North Dakota Senate during the 2021 Legislature to remain on the board.

The board has eight voting members, as well as two nonvoting advisers who represent the faculty and staff of the North Dakota University System. The board oversees the university system, which has 11 public colleges and universities.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today