Surrey fills council positions

SURREY – Charles Tollefson was elected mayor of the City of Surrey in a special election Tuesday.

He replaces Jason Strand, who resigned last August. Running unopposed on the ballot, Tollefson received 143 of the 181 votes cast. He will complete the unexpired two years remaining on the four-year term.

Voters elected Jennifer Johns to the two years remaining on a council position. Karla Walsh ran to retain her seat in the recall election and was challenged by Johns. The vote total was Walsh, 37, and Johns, 60.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)
Are you a paying subscriber to the newspaper? *

Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today