Minot Symphony Orchestra opens 94th season with ‘Homegrown’

Submitted photo

The Minot Symphony Orchestra presents its 94th season opener, “Homegrown,” at 7:30 p.m. Saturday in Minot State University’s Ann Nicole Nelson Hall.

The symphony will celebrate Indigenous Peoples’ Day with a festival of our country’s cultures featuring all American composers. The program will begin with Bernstein’s Candide Overture. Virgil Thomson’s folk melodies from the 1936 short documentary film The Plow that Broke the Plains will be featured along with Samuel Jones Symphony No. 3, Palo Duro Canyon, depicting the constant Texas-plains wind and incorporating Comanche Indian themes in his piece. The suite from Copland’s ballet, Appalachian Spring, and Maestro Amaya’s Suite of Latin Dances exploring folk rhythms from his native Venezuela will also be performed.

“For our opening concert, we will feature all American composers, Bernstein, Copland, Virgil Thomson, as well as by my mentor and conducting teacher Samuel Jones. We will also premiere my own piece, Suite of Latin Dances,” said Efrain Amaya, music director.

“Homegrown” is the first of the symphony’s six concert series for the 2019-2020 season. Other concerts in this series include: “From Russia with Love” Nov. 16, featuring Ukrainian-American pianist Marina Lomazov; “Holiday Magic” Dec. 14, featuring MSU’s Emerson Eads and area choirs; “The Remarkable Farkle McBride” family concert Feb. 8 at 3 p.m.; “Fun and Games” March 8 and “The Titan” season finale on April 25 featuring the Heartland Marimba Quartet.

Season tickets are available and include a reserved seat and admission to all six season performances. Season ticket prices for adults are $155 for balcony or $130 for main floor. Senior and student discounts are available. The symphony is also offering a Flex Pass which includes six unreserved concert tickets for the price of five. The Flex Pass can be used for multiple tickets to the same performance or spread out between performances. Tickets are available at www.minotsymphony.com/ or through the box office at 858-4228.

Erik Anderson and Charlie Young will provide pre-concert talks which are perfect for newcomers, experienced listeners and anyone in between. The talks begin 1 hour before the concert and is free with your concert ticket (excluding Holiday Magic). They will provide an engaging overview of the works being performed, talk about the story behind the music, the composer and historical context.

The symphony will partner with The Spot for beer and wine beverage service for patrons age 21 and over before the concert as well as during intermission. Funds raised will be used to support future symphony programming.

Individual main floor tickets for the opener are $25 or $30 for balcony with senior and student discounts available. Tickets can be purchased online at www.minotsymphony.com/ or call 858-4228.


Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

I'm interested in (please check all that apply)


Starting at $4.62/week.

Subscribe Today