Mark Fox re-elected chairman of Three Affiliated Tribes

NEW TOWN – Mark Fox, incumbent, was re-elected to a second four-year term as chairman of the Three Affiliated Tribes, according to the unofficial vote count.

Fox received 1,725 votes and Tex Hall received 959 votes, the Tribal Election Board office reported. Hall is a former three-time tribal chairman.

“The vote of confidence reflects the will of the people, the majority of which endorse the progress established over the past 4 years!” Mark Fox said in an email to the Minot Daily News.

Fox was first elected tribal chairman in 2014. He has also served as Parshall-Lucky Mound Segment representative to the tribal business council.

Voters from all six segments of the Fort Berthold Reservation vote for tribal chairman.

In the race for Four Bears Segment representative to the tribal business council, V. Judy Brugh was the top vote-getter with 246 votes. Wendi R. Wells, who was also running for that position, received 152 votes. Brugh also served as Four Bears representative for two consecutive terms from 2007-2015.

The tribal Election Board will announce the official vote count as soon as possible.