Olson, Schmitt and Emery elected to Minot Park Board

The top vote-getters for three seats in the Minot Park Board race are newcomers. Elected were Perry Olson, 4,815 votes, and Mike Schmitt, 2,411 votes, and incumbent Charles Emery, 2,274 votes.

Other candidates and their votes are as follows:

– Randi Monley, 1,480 votes.

– Richard Sabol, 1,436 votes.

– Stephen Henderson, 1,377 votes.

– Steven Blasing, 1,321 votes.

Olson, Schmitt and Emery said prior to the final number available Tuesday evening:

“If indeed the voters have selected me to serve on the park board, I look forward to the opportunity to move the district forward. I think the park staff does an amazing job and I’d be honored if I’m part of it,” said Olson.

Olson has worked in business development at First International Bank & Trust in Minot for the past three years and prior was a TV anchor/reporter at KXMC.

“I’m happy with the election results and I’m looking forward to serving the community of Minot with the park district,” said Schmitt. “I’ll definitely listen to the people who put me there and continue with the good work the park district has done at this point.”

Schmitt, an investigator with the U.S. government for 33 years, grew up in Minot. He was involved with the planning and development of the original Maysa Arena and recent addition.

“I’m very honored to be on the board and I look forward to the next four years of finishing projects we have started and to continue to enhance the quality of life,” said Emery.

Emery was elected to the park board in 2014. He retired in 2014 after 14 years as manager of the park district’s Maysa Arena.

John Drady and Nancy Beck did not seek re-election.