Magi swimming and diving wins West Region

BISMARCK – The Minot High swimming and diving team showed the true strength of their depth Saturday at the West Region meet in Bismarck. Minot High won with 496.5 points, followed by Century with 426 and Mandan with 311.5.

Though none of the Magicians finished in first place, they were able to score multiple swims or dives in each event to catapult them to the top.

The team started out with a season-best 200-yard Medley Relay swam by Easton Evanoff, Griffin Schaeffer, William Walker-Rozo and Steve Novak. The boys came in second behind Century with a time of 1 minute 41.60 seconds.

Four swimmers scored in the 200-yard freestyle. Charlie Wentz (1:52.64) and Connor Templeton (1:54.22) took third and fourth, followed by Peyton Huss in sixth and Nick Burkart in 11th.

The 200-yard individual medley had four Magi placing in the top 10. William Walker-Rozo finished third at 2:03.36 followed by Jack Wolsky in fourth at 2:08.16. Yoder Dominic finished sixth and Patrick Malnaa finished eighth, scoring key points for the Magi.

For the diving team, Layton King finished sixth with a score of 333.10, while Reece Pederson finished eighth at 307.25.

The 100-yard freestyle saw four more scorers for Minot High. Evanoff finished third at 50.00, followed by Gannon Miller in fifth at 50.69, Zac Spaulding in sixth at 51.30 and Steve Novak in eighth at 52.50.

The 200-yard freestyle relay clocked a year-best time for the Magicians, finishing third behind Century (1:28.19) and Mandan (1:31.03). Steve Novak, Gannon Miller, Zac Spaulding and Charlie Wentz swam a 1:31.54.

Evanoff broke the 56 seconds mark for his backstroke, finishing second with a 55.82. Yoder (57.00) and Wentz (57.12) were not far behind, finishing third and fourth for the Magi as well.

The 100-yard breaststroke saw five top ten finishes from the Magi, with four of them able to score for the team. Schaeffer finished second at 1:02.33. Wolsky finished fifth at 1:04.07, while Templeton (1:06.02) and Malnaa (1:06.35) finished seventh and eighth. Aaron Gochanour finished in ninth with a 1:08.24.

The Magi had nine All-Conference swimmers: Evanoff, Walker-Rozo, Wentz, Schaeffer, Yoder, Wolsky, Templeton, Huss and Miller. Evanoff took home senior athlete of the year while head coach Jake Solper took home the title of coach of the year.

Mandan diver Johnny Mindt scored a WDA record-breaking dive at 499.30 and their 200-yard freestyle relay team set a new record of 1:28.19 for the meet.

The Magi will travel to West Fargo on March 2 to take place in the state meet.