Eull named first team All-NSIC

BURNSVILLE, Minn. – Minot State senior Mitchell Eull was named First Team All-Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference the league office announced on Thursday.

Eull, who is ranked eighth in NCAA Division II among heavyweights, becomes the first wrestler in Minot State history to earn All-NSIC honors.

Eull earned first team honors at 285 pounds after putting together a dominant senior season. He currently has an overall record of 25-3 and a 17-1 mark in dual meets.

The Buffalo, Minn., native was a perfect 8-0 in NSIC duals this season, which included two falls a technical fall victory.

Eull became Minot State’s career win leader when he notched a fall victory against Justice Horn of Northern State. He pinned Horn in 57 seconds giving him 86 career victories to move past Steve Lipp into first place on the all-time list.

For the season, Eull recorded eight wins via fall, two technical fall victories and two major decisions.

Eull was joined on the first team by Brett Velasquez, Jarred Oftedahl, James Pleski and Vince Dietz of St. Cloud State, Tate Barnhardt of Mary, Dan Close and Zach Johnston of Minnesota State, Blake Perryman of Northern State and Aero Amo of Augustana.

The second team was comprised of Andrew McFall and Corey Abernathy of Minnesota State, Josh Walker, Damian Penichet, Brock Benitz and Nick Baumler of Upper Iowa, Zach Scott of Minnesota State Moorhead, Phillip Springsteen of Mary and Kolton Eischens and Lawrence Phillips of St. Cloud State.

Mary swept the major awards as Tate Barnhardt was named the Wrestler of the Year, Springsteen was chosen as the Rookie of the Year and Adam Aho was tabbed as the Coach of the Year.

– Minot State athletics