Round 2: Dakota Classic Mod Tour

IMCA Modifieds and stock cars swarm Nodak Speedway

Alex Eisen/MDN Heat 8 of the IMCA Modifieds in the Dakota Classic Modified Tour exit turn four Sunday evening at Nodak Speedway.

The 28th annual Dakota Classic Modified Tour (DCMT) took over Nodak Speedway on Sunday with 90 IMCA Modifieds and 42 IMCA Stock Cars vying for results on the dirt track oval in Minot.

Due to the large number of registered cars, the second night of six consecutive days of racing on the tour offered intense heat races and ‘B’ mains just to make the main features.

At press deadline, the main features for both classes had yet to be run. Those results will be in Tuesday’s scoreboard section.

The Modifieds used 10 heats, with only the winner advancing, and six ‘B’ mains to determine the starting field for the main feature.

Heat racing highlights included defending tour champion Hunter Marriott taking the opener, Ricky Thornton Jr. making a last-lap pass for the win in Heat 4 and a total of seven out-of-staters coming up with victories.

Alex Eisen/MDN IMCA Stock Cars get ready to take the green flag in a heat race Sunday night at Nodak Speedway.

North Dakota heat winners included Williston’s Travis Hagen, Ray’s Jason Wolla and Underwood’s Marlyn Seidler.

The Top 3 in the ‘B’ mains joined the heat winners in the main feature. Out of those that advanced, five started on the pole (Kody Scholpp, Joel Rust, Tyler Peterson, Tim Ward, Jason Grimes), two from the outside of the pole (Paul Stone, Justin O’Brien) and eight started on row two (Chris Bragg, Jordan Grabouski, Jerad Thelen, Drew Christianson, Steven Pfeifer, Lance Mari, Kelly Shryock, Ryan Mikkelson).

The biggest mover to reach the main event was Masen Big Eagle, who went from eighth to third in the fifth ‘B’ feature.

Some of the best racing on the night came between Big Eagle and Kyle Brown in the battle for the final transfer spot. They went back and forth sliding out in front of each other and flipping places every corner before Big Eagle finally got away.

The Stock Cars ran six heats with two ‘B’ features. Four of the six pole sitters in the heat races went on to win: Chad Sterling, Beau Deschamp, Chris Ellis and Angel Munoz.

In the first ‘B’ main, in which the Top 8 transferred, three cars at the front pulled away in Curt Lund, Aaron Olson and Joe Flory. And they finished in that order. Jeremy Swanson took the final transfer spot in a race that didn’t feature too many overtakes.

Jody York squeezed into first place past Cody Dignan, as they came to five laps to go in the second ‘B’ feature. That turned out to be the winning move. Eric Harpole moved up two spots to take third.

The Dakota Classic Modified Tour rolls on Estevan Motor Speedway tonight in Saskatchewan, Canada. The back half of the tour will feature stops in Williston Tuesday, Dickinson Wednesday and Mandan Thursday.

The next race at the Nodak Speedway will be the State Fair Enduro race on July 24. Weekly points racing at the track resumes on Aug. 6.

Alex Eisen covers Minot High School, Minot State athletics and high school sports. Follow him on Twitter @AEisen13.