Minotauros select Erne with first round pick, add 10 players in 2017 NAHL draft

Coming off a North American Hockey League Central Division championship in 2017, the Minot Minotauros bolstered their roster by adding 10 players in the NAHL Draft Tuesday. The NAHL Draft was conducted online with each of the 23 member teams selecting players until their protected lists reach 30 players.

With their first round pick (19th overall), Minot selected defenseman Lincoln Erne. Erne accumulated 67 points in 99 games for Blaine High School in Blaine, Minn.

Second-round pick Landyn Cochrane posted 57 points (18 goals and 39 assists) in 60 games for the Waywayseecappo Wolverines of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League last year.

The overall draft class features seven forwards, two defensemen and one goalie. Each of the players come from different playing backgrounds, including some midget, high school and junior experienced players.

The group is also a good mix between younger and older players with two ’97s, four ’98s, two ’99s, and two ’00 birth-year players.

Two of the players drafted by the Minotauros today are already committed to NCAA Division I programs, as third-round pick goaltender Jack Robbel is committed to Lake Superior State and ninth-round pick Jordan Timmons is committed to the University of Connecticut.

The remaining players drafted by the Tauros include Grant Loven (forward, fifth-round pick), Tyler Kirkup (forward, sixth-round pick), Brady Tatro (forward, seventh-round pick), Ondrej Pavel (forward, eighth-round pick), Spencer Kimball (defenseman, 10th-round pick) and Antonio Venuto (forward, 11th-round pick).