Minot, area residents appointed to Rural Development Council

BISMARCK – Several Minot and area residents have been appointed by Gov. Doug Burgum as part of the 12-member North Dakota Rural Development Council, according to a news release in March.

Burgum convened the council in December to support the development of rural communities across the state through collaboration between government and the nonprofit and private sectors.

The appointed members include:

– Daniel Stenberg of Watford City, McKenzie County economic development coordinator.

-Shawn Wenko of Williston, director of the Williston Economic Development Corp.

-Megan Laudenschlager of Minot, executive director of Strengthen ND.

-Joyce “Jt” ShiningOne Side of Dunseith, an educator at Dunseith Public School.

-Antoinette Heier of Hazen, executive director of the Hazen Chamber of Commerce.

The North Dakota Rural Development Council is North Dakota’s chapter of the National Rural Development Partnership Program, uniting the state’s private and nonprofit sectors with state, federal, local and tribal governments to strengthen rural America. The council last met in 2014.

The council is charged with facilitating collaboration among governments and the private and nonprofit sectors in the planning and implementation of programs and policies that have an impact on rural areas of the state. Members also monitor, report and comment on policies and programs aimed at addressing the needs of rural areas of North Dakota.