VFW honors student winners

Students at Our Redeemers Christian School in Minot were honored on Thursday for their participation in the Veterans of Foreign Wars Scholarship Program.

Honoring the students were VFW Post 753 Commander Loren Headrick, Auxiliary President Peggy Headrick and Auxiliary Secretary Adeline Guy.

The scholarship program is held every year for students in grades 9-12. This year’s theme was “American History: Our Hope for the Future.”

Jayde Lindbo was the first-place winner on the local level.

Claire Weltz was the third-place winner and also placed first on the District level. Her winning speech was then forwarded to the Department level.

The theme for next year’s Voice of Democracy Scholarship Program is “Why My Vote Matters.”

The VFW also sponsors a Patriots Pen Scholarship Program in which students in grades 6-8 have the opportunity to write an essay expressing their views on a patriotic theme. This year’s theme for the Patriots Pen Program was “America’s Gift to My Generation.”

Local winners for the Patriots Pen competition were from Bishop Ryan: Nicholas Harbort, first place; Hay Lee Ritzke, second place; and Beau Brooks, third place.

The theme for next year’s Patriots Pen Scholarship Program is “Why I Honor the American Flag.”

The VFW Auxiliary has a Young American Creative Patriotic Art Awards program. Students from grades 9-12 submit their artwork to a Department scholarship chairman for judging.