Ward County 4-H Parliamentary Procedure team remains champion

Submitted Photo The Ward County 4-H Parliamentary Procedure team are repeat state champions. Pictured left to right are members Wyatt Kersten, Dalaney Rhuland, Ben Scheresky, Emily Fannik, Shelsey Brandvold and Coach Hope Scheresky.
Submitted Photo Pictures are 4-H members Wyatt Kersten, Dalaney Rhuland, Emily Fannik, Ben Scheresky and Shelsey Brandvold.

The Ward County 4-H Parliamentary Procedure team defended their title as State Champions by winning the Civic U contest held Friday at the 4-H Campgrounds near Washburn. The team consisted of Shelsey Brandvold, Emily Fannik, Wyatt Kersten, Dalaney Ruhland and Ben Scheresky. The team was coached by 4-H members Christina Bingham and Hope Scheresky. Holly Kersten was influential in organizing the team.

Civic U is a new contest, first started in 2016, where 4-H members in 6th to 8th grade compete in parliamentary procedure. Teams must consist of five members. Each member acts as an officer; either president, vice president, secretary, treasurer or reporter. Each team was given an issue to solve using parliamentary procedure. All participants received a t-shirt and the champions receive the traveling trophy of a large wooden gavel.

For more information about Ward County 4-H, or if interested in joining Ward County 4-H as a youth member or a volunteer, contact Emily Goff, 4-H Youth Development Extension Agent at NDSU Extension Service Ward County by calling 857-6450 or visit their website at https://www.ag.ndsu.edu/wardcountyextension/4h-and-youth.